(1-12-22) The Summit Athletic Conference (SAC) has decided to revamp the format of the conference in football starting in 2023l. The SAC will now be composed of two five teams division, basically Division A (DA) will feature the big schools, while Division B (DB) will feature the smaller schools in the SAC.

Ft. Wayne North Side, will be the only 5A school in DB.

Each team will plays two non-conference opponents, four games against division teams and three games against cross-division opponents.

The added two non-conference games (week 1 &2) seems to be the ‘golden egg’ that the SAC was hoping for to help schools prepare for the playoffs. AD’s will now scramble to find opponents for those games.

The team with the best conference record at the end of the season will be crowned the SAC champion. In the event of a tie, head-to-head will be used to break it, as is used currently in the league. If the two tied teams did not play in the regular season, the squads will be co-champions and share the Victory Bell.

The plan was approved by AD’s and head coaches.

Did you know….

From 1971 to 1979, football competition was divided into North and South divisions.This was in place while Harding and Elmhurst were still open.

Bishop DwengerBishop Luers
North SideSouth Side