November 23, 2022

News Release – Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association

For Immediate Release – November 23, 2022

Ohio Mr. Football Finalists Announced by OPSWA

OPSWA members voting through noon Monday; winner announced Thursday, December 1 in Canton

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association has announced the finalists for the 2022 Ohio Mr. Football Award. The winner will be announced next Thursday afternoon in Canton prior to the start of the OHSAA football state championships.

The OPSWA district chairpersons and officers have selected seven outstanding student-athletes as finalists for the 2022 Ohio Mr. Football Award. The voting process is nearly identical to that used to determine the Heisman Trophy winner in college football.

Voting is currently underway for the 218 registered OPSWA members and will end at noon on Monday, Nov. 28.

Ohio’s Mr. Football was selected by the Associated Press from 1987-2016. Since 2017 it has been presented by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

The OPSWA All-Ohio teams will begin being released on Monday, December 5.

2022 Ohio Mr. Football Nominees

  • Finalists listed in alphabetical order.
  • OPSWA membership voting ends at noon Monday, November 28.
  • Winner announced Thursday, December 1.

Darreon Fair, Cleveland Heights, 5-11, 175, sr., QB

The Northeast Lakes District Division I Offensive Player of the Year scored 40 total TDs and led the Tigers to a 9-1 record. He rushed for 1,318 yards and 29 TDs on 116 attempts and threw for 644 yards and 11 TDs on 41-of-75 passing.

CJ Hester, Wyoming, 5-11, 190, SR, RB/DB

Three-time Southwest District Division IV Offensive Player of the Year carried the ball 228 times for 2,081 yards (9.1 yards per carry) and 33 TDs in the regular season as the Cowboys finished undefeated and No. 2 in the final AP Poll. Currently has 2,967 yards and 46 TDs on 331 carries for a top-seeded D-IV state semifinalist. Among the school records he set this year were most rushing yards in a game (351), most rushing TDs in a game (7) and most points scored in a game (42). The Western Michigan recruit has rushed for 6,951 yards in his career and has 110 total TDs.

Diore Hubbard, Gahanna Lincoln, 5-11, 185, jr., RB.

Through 14 games the Central District Division I Offensive Player of the Year has rushed for 2,306 yards on 309 carries (7.5 average), has 287 yards receiving on 22 receptions and has 29 total TDs for a top-seeded Division I state semifinalist.

Jordan Marshall, Moeller, 5-11 200, jr., RB

Carried the ball 161 times for 1,290 yards (7.9 yds per carry) and 20 TDs and caught 16 passes for 278 yards and four TDs in the regular season.  Currently has 1,796 yards and 27 TDs on 217 carries for a top-seeded Division I state semifinalist. Named GCL South Player of the Year and Southwest District Division I Offensive Player of the Year. Four-star recruit and one of the country’s Top 10 junior running back prospects according to

Lamar Sperling, Akron Archbishop Hoban, 5-10, 190, sr., RB

The Northeast Inland District Division II Offensive Player of the Year has logged 339 carries, 3,348 rushing yards and 51 rushing touchdowns in 14 games. The Buffalo recruit ran for 2,934 yards and 41 TDs in 16 games last year.

Connor Walendzak, Perrysburg, 5-11, 195, sr., RB

Toledo recruit and Northwest District Division I Offensive Player of the Year ran 166 times for 1,320 yards and 18 touchdowns in the regular season. Also finished with 102 tackles (14.5 for loss), 3.5 sacks, one interception and three forced fumbles. Was named Northern Lakes League Player of the Year and first team at running back and linebacker. Selected All-Ohio first team running back in 2020 and second team in 2021.

Mason Wolfe, Millersburg West Holmes, 6-3, 190, sr., QB

The East District Division IV Offensive Player of the Year completed 137-of-195 passes (70.3% completion) for 2,511 yards, 34 TDs and only 2 INTs. Added another three rushing TDs for the Knights who finished the regular season 10-0 and ranked No. 3 in Division IV state poll. Directed an offense that averaged 51 ppg.