(4-21-23) Two players who led their teams to the Class 4A championship games were awarded the state’s top individual basketball honors.

Benet’s Lenee Beaumon and Moline’s Brock Harding

Moline’s Brock Harding and Benet’s Lenee Beaumont are the 2023 Mr. and Ms. Basketball of Illinois winners. The prestigious awards, presented by the Chicago Tribune in conjunction with the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association, are selected from voting by coaches and media statewide.

Harding, a 6-foot-1 guard and Iowa signee, averaged 18 points and led Moline to the 4A title, scoring 28 in the state final against Benet. Moline finished 35-3.

Beaumont, a 6-foot guard and Indiana recruit, averaged 18.7 points for the Redwings (25-8), who lost to O’Fallon in double overtime in the state final. Beaumont scored 27 points in the title game.

Joliet West guard Jeremy Fears and . Kloe Froebe of Lincoln

Joliet West guard Jeremy Fears finished second to Harding. Kloe Froebe of Lincoln was the Ms. Basketball runner-up.

Harding and Beaumont will be honored at the IBCA Hall of Fame banquet May 6 at Illinois State University. Mr. Basketball has been awarded since 1981 and Ms. Basketball since 1986.