New Riegel HS Principal Justin Johnson in a Tiffin Advertiser-Tribune story (8-16-17) at the school’s BOE Meeting:

He reported that Hopewell-Loudon has been accepted into the Sandusky Bay Conference starting the 2019-20 academic year while approval was granted to Shelby to exit the conference after the upcoming school year.

(8-17-17) High School athletic conferences in northwest Ohio remain unstable, this time two conferences will be facing changes.  The Blanchard Valley Conference and the ever-changing Sandusky Bay Conference, if the Hopewell-Loudon BOE approves the move at its next meeting.

The Chieftians will most likely join the SBC’s River Division:

Football Schools

  • Margaretta
  • Willard
  • Tiffin Calvert
  • Lakota
  • Sandusky St. Mary’s
  • Fremont St. Joseph

Other sports:

  • New Riegel
  • Old Fort



Hopewell-Loudon, who joined the BVC in 2014,  would be the second school to leave the BVC in less than five years, Hardin Northern left in 2014.

BVC Members

School/Year Entered

Arcadia  1922
Arlington 1922
Cory-Rawson  1950
Hopewell-Loudon 2014
Leipsic  1965 (fb) 1971 (all)
Liberty-Benton 1922
McComb 1922
North Baltimore  2014
Pandora-Gilboa1  1966 (fb) 1971 (all)
Riverdale  2014
Van Buren  1922
Vanlue 1922

Shelby, after this season, now will be in different conferences over three years, disbanded Northern Ohio League, Sandusky Bay Conference and now the Mid-Ohio Athletic Conference after their early release from the SBC.