COLUMBUS, Ohio (3-21-18)  – Upper Arlington High School senior Dane Goodwin was named Ohio Mr. Basketball Wednesday by a statewide media panel.

A 6-foot-5 senior, Goodwin averaged 24 points and 10 rebounds for the District finalist Golden Bears. A four-year starter, he set school records for points scored (1,951 points) and rebounds (817).

Other finalists for the award were Jerome Hunter of Pickerington North, Cameron Brooks-Harris of Zanesville, Darius Bazley of Cincinnati Princeton, Justin Ahrens of Versailles, Kollin Van Horn of Proctorville Fairland, Sincere Carry of Solon, Michael Bothwell of Willoughby Cornerstone Christian, Pete Nance of Richfield Revere and Vincent Williams of Toledo St. John’s.

Upper Arlington Head Coach Tim Casey told the Colunbus Dispatch:

“Dane has a very high basketball IQ, which he obviously acquired being around the game virtually his whole life.”

“He’s also one of the most naturally gifted players I’ve had in 33 years of coaching. He has unbelievable hand-eye coordination, savvy and timing. Dane has a competitive edge about him. When the game’s on the line, he has another gear and can raise his game to another level. I can’t begin to count how many game-winning baskets he made for us.”

Goodwin, a Notre Dame commit, is the son of former St. Marys great Damon Goodwin.

Past Ohio Mr. Basketball Ohio winners
2018 – Dane Goodwin, Upper Arlington
2017 – Kaleb Wesson, Westerville South
2016 – Xavier Simpson, Lima Senior
2015 – 2014 Luke Kennard, Franklin High School
2013 – Marc Loving, Toledo St. John’s Jesuit
2012 – Justin Fritts, Mentor
2011 – Trey Burke, Columbus Northland
2010 – Jared Sullinger, Columbus Northland
2009 – Jared Sullinger, Columbus Northland
2008 – William Buford, Toledo Libbey
2007 – Jon Diebler, Upper Sandusky
2006 – O.J. Mayo, North College Hill
2005 – O.J. Mayo, North College Hill
2004 – Jamar Butler, Lima Shawnee
2003 – LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary
2002 – LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary
2001 – LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary
2000 – (tie) Tony Stockman, Medina; Chester Mason, Cleveland South
1999 – Isaac Jefferson, Columbus West
1998 – William “Sonny” Johnson, Garfield Heights
1997 – Kenny Gregory, Independence
1996 – Jason Collier, Springfield Catholic
1995 – Damon Stringer, Cleveland Heights
1994 – Aaron Hutchins, Lima Central Catholic
1993 – Geno Ford, Cambridge
1992 – Greg Simpson, Lima Senior
1991 – Greg Simpson, Lima Senior
1990 – Bob Patton Jr., Youngstown Liberty
1989 – Jimmy Jackson, Toledo Macomber
1988 – Jimmy Jackson, Toledo Macomber