(2-6-21) History was made yesterday when the Midwest Athletic Conference (MAC) held its first official girls bowling tournament. It was only fitting that Coldwater’s Rick Hartings girls picked up the championship trophy knocking off Versailles. Hartings has been a key figure in bowling being accepted as an OHSAA sport from the beginning.

The MAC regular season and tourney are not separate. For every win throughout the season, a team gets 1 point, and then teams will receive additional points based on how they finish in the conference tournament. Total points added up then determine the MAC champion. There is not a regular season winner and a tournament winner. The two combine to determine the conference champion.

Only seven member schools had teams this season. Schools who did not have a team included St. Henry, New Knoxville and Delphos St. John’s.