(2-24-21) The Ohio Sportswriter’s Association released its All- Southwest District Boys Basketball Team for D IV.


Tri-Villages Layne Sarver was named the Player of the Year, while his Coach Josh Sagester was named the Coach of the Year.

The first team was made up of 5 Seniors and 2 Juniors.

Division IV

First team

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Layne Sarver, New Madison Tri-Village

COACH OF THE YEAR: Josh Sagester, New Madison Tri-Village

Riddle, Jones and Konig

Trent Koning, Cedarville, 6’2, Sr.; 18.8 ppg., 4.4 rpg, 4.4 apg.; Layne Sarver, Tri-Village, 6’6″, Jr.: 23 ppg, 6 rpg.; Jonathan Riddle Legacy Christian Sr, 19.3 ppg, 7.9 rpg.; Aidan Reichert, Jackson Center, 6’5”, Sr.: 19.1 ppg, 7.6 rpg.; Jacob Pleiman, Botkins, 6’6”, Jr.: 16 ppg., 7 rpg.; Deanza Duncan, New Miami, 5’8”, Sr.; 20.4 ppg., 4.2 rpg.; Gi’Marrion Jones, Cincinnati College Prep Academy, 6’4”, Sr.: 21.4 ppg., 11.4 rpg.

Duncan, Reichert and Pleiman

Second team

Isaiah Ramey, Cedarville, 6’5”, Sr.: 16.1 ppg, 6 rpg; Cody Germann, Ripley-Union-Lewis-Huntington, 6’1”, Sr.: 14.1 ppg.; Carson Crozier, Felicity-Franklin, 6’3”, Jr:  20 ppg, 4.9 rpg.; Caeleb Meyer, Fort Loramie, 6-2, Sr.: 12.7 ppg., 3.5 rpg; Jordan Robinette, New Miami, 5’10”, Sr.: 13.8 ppg, 3.8 rpg; Tre Munson, Cincinnati College Prep Academy, 6’3”, Sr..; 21.4 ppg., 4.8 rpg.; Chandler Peters, Pleasant Hill Newton, 5’9″ Jr.: 19.4ppg, 3.0 apg.

Third team

Josh Scantland, New Madison Tri-Village, 6’6″, Jr.: 10 ppg, 7 rpg.; Parker Davidson, Bradford, 6’2”, So.: 19.5ppg, 6.7 rpg.; Jason Channels, Springfield Emmanuel Christian Academy, 6’1”, Sr.: 18.6 ppg, 6.1 rpg.; Ashton Piper, Sidney Fairlawn, 6’3”, Sr.: 15.5 ppg, 5.9 rpg, 4.2 apg,; John Zumberger, DeGraff Riverside, 5’11”, Sr.: 18.0 ppg, 3.5 rpg; Zykeem Hunley, St. Bernard-Elmwood Place, 6’2”, Sr.: 15 ppg, 8 rpg;  Jayden Priddy-Powell, Botkins, 5’10”, Sr.:15ppg 4 apg, 4 rpg.

Honorable mention

Levi Wiederhold, Fayetteville-Perry; Jayden Bradshaw, Fayetteville-Perry; Gabe Fyffe, Ripley-Union-Lewis-Huntington; Braiden Bennington, Ripley-Union-Lewis-Huntington; Garrett Taulbee, Felicity-Franklin; Dalton Delong, New Madison Tri-Village; Cavin Baker, Arcanum Franklin Monroe; Aidan Luchini, Arcanum Franklin Monroe; Ky Cool, Arcanum Franklin Monroe; Mitchell Montgomery, Pleasant Hill Newton; Harold Oburn, Pleasant Hill Newton; Matthew Cardwell, Cincinnati Christian; Reece Stammen, Ansonia; Isaac Barga, Ansonia; DeAndre Cowen, Yellow Springs; Tyler Galluch, Springfield Catholic Central; Ashton Young, Springfield Catholic Central; Ian Galluch, Springfield Catholic Central;  Parker Penrod Troy Christian; Ben Major,  Troy Christian; Hayden Quinter, Russia;  Caleb Maurer, Fort Loramie: Grant Albers, Fort Loramie: Luke Frantz, Sidney Lehman Catholic; Justin Chapman, Sidney Lehman Catholic; Carter Pleiman, Botkins; Trey Robinette, New Miami.

Below are Players and Coaches of the Year for the other divisions, to see complete player list visit – All-Southwest District Teams (I, II and III)


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Rayvon Griffith, Cincinnati Taft

COACH OF THE YEAR: Nate Barhorst, Anna


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ben Knostman, Tippecanoe

COACH OF THE YEAR: David Lane, Ross


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kobe Rodgers, St. Xavier

COACH OF THE YEAR: Michael Noszka, St. Xavier