Fourteen Individuals Set to Enter OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame

Annual hall of fame banquet June 24 to enshrine new class of inductees

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Fourteen individuals have been selected for induction into the Ohio High School Athletic Association Officials Hall of Fame. The OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame induction banquet is scheduled for June 24 in Columbus at the Hilton Polaris and will welcome these 14 individuals selected by the OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame Committee.

Long time Van Wert official Ron Golemon has officiated in both basketball and baseball during his time.Golemon has also conducted numerous officiating classes to help find new officials for the future.

Beau Rugg, OHSAA Senior Director of Officiating and Sport Management and himself a member of the Hall of Fame said-

“We are proud to have an Officials Hall of Fame where the best in Ohio are recognized for their outstanding careers and their dedication to officiating. Officiating is a service, and these 14 highly respected individuals have earned induction into the Hall of Fame through their commitment to that service.”

Each of the 14 inductees is being honored for outstanding officiating careers and significant contributions to interscholastic officiating in Ohio.

More information on the OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame is posted at:

2023 OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame Induction Class

  • Rick Bayless, Delaware (BK)
  • Dave Campbell, Cincinnati (BK, FB, CC, TF)
  • Phil Colflesh, Dublin (FB)
  • Charles “Ron” Golemon, Van Wert (BK, BB)
  • Andrew Holloman, Orwell (BB, SB, BK)
  • Carl Jordan Sr., Pepper Pike (BK)
  • Bill Mason, Granville (BK, LX)
  • Donald Mason, Zanesville (WR)
  • Cheryl Opperman, Wellington (SB)
  • Michael Porpora, Wadsworth (SO)
  • Michael Rauch, Beverly (BK)
  • Katie Roesch, Galion (VB, TF, BK)
  • Kevin Schwarzel, Athens (BK)
  • John Whitson, Newark (BK, FB, BB)