Alex Bader
Alex with parents Christian and Missy

(2-10-18) It was a day to remember for Jay County’s Alex Bader at the IHSAA Girls State Swimming and Diving Championships.

Alex Bader prelims

Friday night Bader finished in a fast time of  1:02.80 to qualify in 5th spot in the 100 Yard Breaststroke  and the opportunity to swim for her second State medal.

Alex Bader finals.jpg

On Saturday she finished 5th in the finals in a time of 1:03.09 in her final race as a Jay County Patriot. The winner of the race was Yorktown junior Emily Weiss who set a national high school record with a time of 58.40, beating the 58.56 record set by Lindsey Horejsi of Albert Lea Senior High School in Minnesota in November 2015.

But the day was not over for the Senior, Bader was named the Mental Attitude Award winner, one of the most prestigious awards given out to an IHSAA Student-Athlete. Bader is the first Patriot to ever win the award in swimming, the first award in swimming was handed out in 1974-75.


Jay County Matt Slavik –

This is a huge deal for our program.  We are very blessed in Jay County to have so much community support for swimming, from summer rec to the high school program.  It is fantastic to have one of ours be recognized above the tremendous swimmers and divers that compete in Indiana.

Alex is a very deserving young lady and has worked extremely hard, both academically and athletically, to get to where she is.  Her 100 Breaststroke was an incredible race, where a young lady who will more than likely be representing the United States in the next olympics, was the winner.

I cannot speak highly enough of the effort and energy that Alex has brought to our program.  She has trained extremely hard for the past four years to get to where she is.  Alex is one of the most coachable young ladies that I have every had the opportunity to work with.  She will excel at the next level in the sport of swimming and her work ethic will propel her to an extremely successful career and future life outside of the pool.  Alex epitomizes what it means to be a team player and leader.  Alex is a tremendous role model for our youth and is a shining example of what we should want our young kids to aspire to be like.  Her faith, family, academics and swimming are a huge part of who she is as a person.


Award Description-

At the conclusion of the state finals, the IHSAA Executive Committee presents the Mental Attitude Award to the outstanding senior participant in the swimming and diving state tournament. The recipient of this award, who was nominated by her principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in swimming and diving. From 1989 to 2013, over $825,000 in college scholarships were presented by Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance to deserving high school students in Indiana.

Past Winners

Year Name School
1974-75 Pat Lapham North Central
1975-76 Carol Bartholomew Valparaiso
1976-77 Debra McFadyen Kokomo Haworth
1977-78 Mara Hagan Terre Haute South
1978-79 Elizabeth Ashburn Ben Davis
1979-80 Julie Trudgen North Central
1980-81 Jane Coontz Castle
1981-82 Sherry Cartwright Harrison (West Lafayette)
1982-83 Laura Ashburn Ben Davis
1983-84 Pamela Hayden Columbus East
1984-85 Debbie Daniel Anderson
1985-86 Jenny Turnock Elkhart Central
1986-87 Tricia Berger Jasper
1987-88 Heidi Hendricks Logansport
1988-89 Angela Todt Elkhart Central
1989-90 Ginger Faerber Carmel
1990-91 Allison Bock Lafayette Jefferson
1991-92 Carrie Keckley South Bend St. Joseph’s
1992-93 Kirsten Johnson Valparaiso
1993-94 Danielle Biggs New Albany
1994-95 Lindsay Benko Elkhart Central
1995-96 Emily Ayers Carmel
1996-97 Melissa Sugar Evansville Day
1997-98 Maureen Hillenmeyer Westfield
1998-99 Michala Kwasny Fort Wayne Snider
1999-00 Brooke Taflinger Kokomo
2000-01 Jenni Anderson Chesterton
2001-02 Kristy Siminski Portage
2002-03 Katie Robinson South Dearborn
2003-04 Erin Sparks Carmel
2004-05 Christine Shehorn North Central
2005-06 Brittney Feldman Indianapolis Broad Ripple
2006-07 Kayla Sergesketter Jasper
2007-08 Emily Schroeder Hamilton Southeastern
2008-09 Jessica Hammes Carmel
2009-10 Kait Flederbach Westfield
2010-11 Carly Marshall Carmel
2011-12 Abby Smith Franklin Community
2012-13 Lacey Locke Carmel
2013-14 Alex Cleveland Zionsville
2014-15 Lillia King Evansville Reitz
2015-16 Claire Adams Carmel
2016-17 Lauryn Parrish Fishers