Thomas Schwieterman mvp
Coldwater’s Thomas Schwieterman

(3-7-18) Coldwater’s Thomas Schwieterman is the 2017-18 SSN Most Valuable Wrestler. Schwieterman, who will be wrestling at this weekend’s State Championships in the 285 lb class, is currently 44-5 this season.

Coldwater Coach Rob Schmidt talked about Schwieterman after he won his 100th career match earlier this season:

Having Thomas as part of Coldwater Wrestling is a tremendous asset. Not only does Thomas help our team be successful, but he’s a strong leader. I hope Thomas’s success can inspire others who think they can’t win or be successful in wrestling, to take part in this great sport. Thomas still has bigger goals set for this season and is working hard to achieve them as do many other wrestlers on our team. I feel very blessed to not only have Thomas be part of Coldwater Wrestling, but for every wrestler this season and in the past.


Brian Chmielewski
Brian Chmielewski

Three other Coldwater wrestlers named to the team have picked up 40 or more wins including, Brian Chmielewski (45-10), Justin Sigler  (43-14) and Seth Obringer (47-9). Other Cavs named to the team include Kobe Boggs, Reece Thomas, Josh Fink, Drew Waite and Nolan Tobe.

Tristen McKee
Parkway’s Tristen McKee

Parkway has three wrestlers on the list,  Sectional Champion Tristen McKee, Preston Browning and Ethan Meyer.

Parkway Coach Kevin Browning

Ethan was injured our first meet of the season and did not come back until our last meet of the year. His 6-4 record would have been 30 or more wins had he not injured his knee week 1.

Meyer, after his injury, came back for the the final match of the season and went on to  qualify for Districts at 138 after a 3rd place finish at Sectionals.

Celina contributes two wrestlers to the team, Logan Muhlenkamp and Luke Muhlenkamp.

2017-18 All Mercer County Wrestling Team

106: Tristen McKee, Sr, Parkway – (33-7)
113: Brian Chmielewski, Jr, Coldwater – (45-10)
120: Preston Browning, Soph, Parkway – (29-12)
126: Kobe Boggs, Soph, Coldwater – (35-15)
132: Justin Sigler, Sr, Coldwater – (43-14)
138: Ethan Meyer, Jr, Parkway – (6-4)
145: Reece Thomas, Jr, Coldwater – (23-18)
152: Josh Fink, Jr, Coldwater – (33-8)
160: Seth Obringer, Sr, Coldwater – – (47-9)
170: Logan Muhlenkamp, Jr, Celina – (38-15)
182: Luke Muhlenkamp, Soph, Celina – (36-16)
195: Drew Waite, Jr, Coldwater – (23-25)
220: Nolan Tobe, Frosh, Coldwater – (31-15)
285: Thomas Schwieterman, Sr, Coldwater – (44-5)

The last award goes to the Best Dressed Coach of the Year Parkway’s Kevin Browning.

parkway wrestle coach
Parkway Coach Kevin Browning – courtesy Pat Agler