(5-17-19) Celina’s Maddy Luebke was named the Western Buckeye League Player of the Year. The Senior helped to lead the Bulldogs to a Co-WBL Championship and a Sectional title this season.

Luebke, (SS-P) hit .464 with four doubles, two triples, five home runs, 21 RBIs and 26 runs scored. On the mound she pitched 55 2/3 innings with 42 strikeouts and a 5-1 record.

Leubke will continue here softball career at Siena Heights University in Adrian, Michigan.

Joining Luebke on the first team from Celina was Emily Keith. Taylor Turner picked up second team honors and Sydney Lehman was on the honorable mention list.

2019 All-Western Buckeye League Softball Teams

  • Player of the Year: Maddy Luebke (Celina)
  • Co-Coaches of Year: Nicole Driggs (Celina), Dennis Parish (Defiance)


First Team

Kali Armstrong (Bath), Kennedi Sullivan (Bath), Maddy Luebke (Celina), Emily Keith (Celina), Caileigh Jiminez (Defiance), Emalee McKenzie (Defiance), Laken George (Shawnee), Alex Daum (Wapakoneta), Lauren Moore (Van Wert)

Second Team

Chandler Clark (Bath), Taylor Turner (Celina), Selena Garcia (Defiance), McKenzie Miller (Elida), Jasmine Reisinger (Kenton), Kaitlyn Yoder (Ottawa-Glandorf), Shalom McNeal (Shawnee), Alyssa Alexander (St. Marys), Allie Wilson (Wapakoneta)

Third Team

Riley Liames (Bath), Carlee Smiddy (Defiance), Addie Miller (Elida), Lacie Nichols (Kenton), Emma Ellerbrock (Ottawa-Glandorf), Carmi Winegardner (Shawnee), Kiley Tennant (St. Marys), Maddie Dosseck (Wapakoneta), Alexis Metz (Van Wert)

Honorable Mention

Celina: Sydney Lehman; Defiance: Jordan Davis; Elida: Abby Smith; Kenton: Chesney Moore; Ottawa-Glandorf: Erica Annesser; Shawnee: Emma Tippee; St. Marys: Karsyn McGlothen; Van Wert: Olivia Kline; Wapakoneta: Corrin Wilder