(3-30-21) Ft. Loramie recently won the OHSAA D IV Girls Basketball State title in impressive style. This year they had a regular season and tournament run second to none. So yesterday when the D IV All-Ohio team was named…not one player was on the first team and only one player was on the 2nd team and one picked up honorable mention honors.


Who picks the All-Ohio teams?

The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association ( https://www.ohsaa.org/news/OPSWA) was created in 1972 to support, promote and recognize coverage of high school sports across Ohio and is endorsed by the Ohio High School Athletic Association. OPSWA members are invited to assist with selecting the all-district teams, with those award winners eligible for All-Ohio consideration.

Since the OPSWA took over selection of All-Ohio team from the AP several years ago, teams have been announced after the tournaments have been completed.

2021 D IV All-Ohio 1st Team

Tory Hendershot, Shadyside, 5-7, sr., 15.7; Jacey Justice, Peebles, 5-8, sr., 32.1; Ava Hassel, Portsmouth Notre Dame, 5-5, sr., 20.8; Bella Kline, Sugar Grove Berne Union, 5-11, sr., 13.6; Molly Howard, McDonald, 5-9, sr., 20; Riley Stopp, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy, 5-11, sr., 16.8; Morgan Hunt, Tri Village, 5-10. so., 19.9; Emma Hess, Xenia Legacy Christian, 6-0, sr., 18.6; Madison Royal-Davis, Toledo Christian, 5-10, sr., 25.2; Ivy Wolf, Minster, 5-10, sr., 20.3.

The All-Ohio D IV 1st team (10 players) has some impressive players listed, but only one was on a team who qualified for the D IV Final Four (McDonald), who the Redskins beat 60-26 in the title game. Ft. Loramie set three OHSAA records in that game: fewest points in allowed in a State Final game (2), lowest score in a state final game (26), and largest margin of victory in a state final game (34 points).

Ft. Loramie was ranked #1 all season in the AP Poll, finished the year 29-1 and might have been playing for their 2nd consecutive state title had it not been for the pandemic in 2020.

Rose and Hoelscher

Kenzie Hoelscher was named to the 2nd team and her teammate Dana Rose was given Honorable Mention honors..

Hoelscher was named the SCAL Player of the Year and 1st Team All Southwest District, while Rose was named the D IV State All-Tournament team MVP, to the SCAL 1st Team and 2nd team All-Southwest District (last season she was the SCAL MVP).

Veteran Ft. Loramie Coach Carla Siegel was overlooked as Coach of the Year.

If you asked area coaches or teams that played against them about these three…they might agree that they were overlooked…but then again they have a State Championship trophy in their trophy case.

With the OHSAA change in administration it might be a good time to review the process of selecting All-Ohio teams.