(10-16-21) Kirtland now is in the national spotlight as the Hornets are the new #1 in the US with 49 consecutive games won.

The Hornets knocked of Edgewood 44-0 for consecutive win #49 and now just 8 wins from tying the longest Ohio winning streak held by Delphos St. John’s.

Kirtland Coach Tiger LaVerde after the win told the News-Herald about the streak – the longest winning streak in America.

“Oh my gosh. That’s amazing. It’s a testament to how hard the kids work and all they do in the off-season. What these kids do from sixth-to-12th grade is impressive, and these kids do it the right way.”

Kirtland had 393 yards of offense in the win…Ramon Lescano threw for 128 yards and two touchdowns, Gage Sullivan had five catches, 79 yards and 2 TDs, Philip LaVerde had a 97-yard touchdown run, and the Hornets added scoring runs from Mason Rus and Tommy Gogolin.

Kirtland has not lost a game since it lost Marion Local, 34-11, in the 2017 Division VI state championship game.

#2 Kirtland HS vs #1 Marion Local HS (Dec 02, 2017 at Tom Benson HoF Stad.)

Kirtland HS (14-1) vs. Marion Local HS (15-0)

Date: Dec 02, 2017 • Site: Tom Benson HoF Stad. • Stadium: Canton, Ohio  •  Attendance: 8062

Score by Quarters Score 
Kirtland HS  11 
Marion Local HS  12 34 
1st 05:23 KHS  D. Aquilla 33 yd field goal 
      14 plays, 51 yards, TOP 6:37 3 – 0 
 01:05 MLHS  N. Habodasz 1 yd run (N. Habodasz rush) 
      7 plays, 40 yards, TOP 2:53 3 – 8 
2nd 09:30 MLHS  N. Tangeman 10 yd pass from N. Bruns (A. Klosterman kick blockd) 
      6 plays, 53 yards, TOP 1:48 3 – 14 
 02:38 MLHS  J. Buening 3 yd run (K. Francis kick failed) 
      11 plays, 80 yards, TOP 4:35 3 – 20 
3rd 07:19 MLHS  N. Tangeman 20 yd pass from N. Bruns (A. Klosterman kick) 
      12 plays, 59 yards, TOP 4:34 3 – 27 
4th 11:30 MLHS  A. Partington 1 yd run (A. Klosterman kick) 
      10 plays, 59 yards, TOP 4:42 3 – 34 
 02:29 KHS  J. Torok 6 yd pass from D. Fulco (M. Zeuli rush) 
      15 plays, 70 yards, TOP 8:55 11 – 34 
Kickoff time: 10:00 AM • End of Game: 12:20 PM • Total elapsed time: 2:20
Referee: Dave Campbell  •  Umpire: Chris Burns  •  Linesman: Kris Estes  •  Line judge: Daniel Palmer  •  Back judge: Doug Kruthaupt  •  Center judge: Chris George  • 
Temperature: 37  • Wind:  • Weather: Clear and Sunny
Marion Local – OHSAA Div. VI Champions

Current US Consecutive Game Winning Streaks

When the season started there were four teams with longer consecutive game winning streaks, after a couple of weeks of those schools getting knocked off…the Hornets are #1.

Fyffe’s (5-1) winning streak came to an end at 51 games Friday night when the Red Devils lost on the road at Geraldine, 20-19. Fyffe, which has won three consecutive Alabama state championships, fell to 6-1, 4-1 in region play.

The loss was the first for the Red Devils since Nov. 24, 2017, a 35-28 loss to Sulligent in the Class 2A third round of the playoffs. It was the first regular-season loss since a 21-14 loss to Cleveland on Sept. 4, 2015.

The victory for the Bulldogs was the first over the Red Devils since 2013

1- Kirtland (Ohio) 49 – Last game – October 15th beat Edgewood 44-0
Wins to tie state record: 8; St. John’s (Delphos), 57 straight (1996-2001)

Peabody (Tenn) 47 wins
Bixby (Okla) 45 wins
Riverheads (Va) 44 wins
Chandler (Az) 43 wins

Did you know….

The Hornets last loss (see above) was to Marion Local in the 2017 Ohio D VI State title game, now they need just need 8 more wins to tie Delphos St. John’s 58 game Ohio consecutive game win streak.

Marion Local and St. John’s are both members of the Midwest Athletic Conference.

The Hornets entered the 2017 championship game with a14-0 record…giving them a 63-1 record over that span

All-time Ohio consecutive game winning streaks

  • 57 Delphos St. John’s
  • 54 Versailles *a Midwest Athletic Conference member
  • 49 Dayton Jefferson