(5-3-23) In a Tweet by Jim Reamer yesterday….North Central Conference (NCC) member Logansport has applied to join the Hoosier Conference (HC). The Berries would be replacing Lewis Cass who just announced that they were leaving the HC for the Three Rivers Conference.

In the past year Arsenal Tech decided to leave the NCC, while Harrison and McCutheon were recently voted out.

Logansport was a 1926 charter member of the NCC, a length of time that not many schools across the country have accomplished. The NCC still, as of today, have charter members Anderson, Kokomo, Muncie Central and Richmond.

If Logansport does leave the leave the NCC the six remaining schools are Anderson, Kokomo, Lafayette Jeff, Marion, Muncie Central and Richmond.


A look back…

The Conference was formed on March 23, 1926 by 10 schools in the Central third of Indiana. Charter members were Anderson, Arsenal Tech, Frankfort, Kokomo, Lebanon, Logansport, Muncie Central, New Castle, Richmond, and Rochester. With a couple of minor changes in the first decade (Lafayette Jeff replacing Rochester in 1930, and Marion replacing Lebanon in 1933), the conference membership remained unchanged, while the conference added more sports to its umbrella.