pbchorzHonorary Captains Announced for OHSAA Football State Championships

State Championships kick off Thursday night in Ohio Stadium

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Greater Columbus Sports Commission has announced the honorary captains for each of this weekend’s OHSAA football state championship games, which kick off Thursday night at Ohio Stadium. The honorary captains will be involved in various pregame activities, including the coin toss, and will be available for media interviews in the press box after their halftime interview on the OHSAA Radio Network.

Honorary Captain for the Marion Local game will be Brian Hartline:

Brian Hartline, Canton GlenOak High School
Wide Receiver at Ohio State 2006-2008 … 7 seasons in NFL with Miami Dolphins and Cleveland Browns … Owns and operates two convenience stores with a partner in Columbus.

Honorary Captain for the Coldwater game will be Boom Herron:

Boom Herron, Warren G. Harding High School
Rushed for 2,946 yards at Ohio State between 2008-2011 … While at OSU played in Fiesta, Rose, Sugar and Gator Bowls … NFL career includes stints with Bengals, Colts and Bills

Brian Timm, director of corporate partnerships with the Greater Columbus Sports Commission

“We are excited to bring these standout people back to Ohio Stadium for the football state championships. This has become a fun tradition during the last three years that the football state championships in Columbus. The honorary captains are well-known from their playing days and afterwards and have added an additional element to the games. And two of our captains this year, Frank Stams and Jeff Backes, are former state champions, so this will be extra special for them, as well.”

State Championships Schedule and Honorary Captains

Home Team Listed First. Pairings are shown with overall records.

Thursday, Dec. 1

7:30 PM — Archie Griffin — Div. II: Massillon Perry (12-2) vs. Cincinnati La Salle (12-2)

Friday, Dec. 2

10:00 AM — Brian Hartline — Div. VI: Cuyahoga Heights (14-0) vs. Marion Local (13-1)

3:00 PM — Tom Cousineau — Div. IV: Columbus Bishop Hartley (12-2) vs. Steubenville (13-1)

8:00 PM — Jeff Backes — Div. I: Cincinnati St. Xavier (9-5) vs. Cleveland St. Ignatius (13-1)

Saturday, Dec. 3

10:00 AM — William White — Div. VII: Minster (10-4) vs. Warren John F. Kennedy (13-1)

3:00 PM — Frank Stams — Div. III: Trotwood-Madison (12-2) vs. Akron Arch. Hoban (13-1)

8:00 PM — Boom Herron — Div. V: Canton Central Catholic (10-3) vs. Coldwater (13-1)