(12-19-17) Taking a look back at the boys and girls basketball champions in the Midwest Athletic Conference and the Western Buckeye League. Both conferences are very solid and two of the oldest in the state of Ohio.

The last member changes, Shawnee who left the WBL in 1967, rejoined in 1981. In the MAC the last full-member to join the conference was Versailles in 2001 and football only member Anna joined in 2005.

Basketball (boys and girls) has been a very competitive sports in both conferences over the years, below we highlight both.


MAC Boys

The MAC boys title have been equally shared over the years, St. Henry is the only school in double-figures with 13. The Redskins last championship came in 2014-15 (9-0).

Parkway, a charter MAC member, has never won a conference title, while another charter member, Minster, has only one championship trophy.  The Wildcats shared the title that season, the second year the MAC competed, with Marion Local.  Marion Local beat Minster and Coldwater beat Marion Local.  The Flyers went on to a 25-1 season and a Class A State Championship.

MAC girls

Minster (won the first six MAC titles) and Marion Local have dominated the MAC titles over the years, the Wildcats have won 15 championships and Marion Local has picked up 10.

Two charter members, St. Henry and Parkway have never won a MAC championship.

New Bremen picked up their only MAC title in 2008-09 when they tied Delphos St. John’s.


WBL Boys

The WBL boys basketball champions have been crowned since the late 1930’s.

Celina and O-G both have 17 championships, the Titans have only been in the conference since 1967. St. Marys and Shawnee are also in double figures with 10 titles.

A WBL charter member, Bellefontaine, has won 12, their last came in 1963-64 when they tied with Shawnee and St. Marys.

Bluffton, a WBL charter member, won the first ever title in 1936-37, going 5-0 in the six team league. The Pirates won four titles and currently are in the Northwest Conference.

Two current MAC members have won WBL boys titles, Coldwater (1957-58 and  1959-60) with 2 and Delphos St. John’s with 8.

WBL Girls

Bath has picked up the most WBL girls titles with 18, no other schools are in double-figures.

Kenton is the only WBL team to have not won a championship. Wapakoneta (1999-00), Defiance (1999-00) and Van Wert (2005-06) have picked up 1 since girls basketball started competing in the 1970’s. All three schools shared title with three other schools the years they won.


Current MAC member, Delphos St. John’s, had quite a run under Head Coach Fran Voll while in the WBL (1976-82) winning the first six WBL championships ever competed in the conference and going 54-0. Sidenote, the Blue Jays have won only six MAC titles since joining the MAC during the 1982-83 season, the first came when they tied Marion Local in 1986-87.