Sycamore logo

(3-14-18) Sycamore athletic director Chauncey Carrick told the Daily-Chronicle it has accepted  an invitation to join the Interstate 8 starting in the 2019-2020 school year.

“It was a tough decision. We have a great relationship with both Kaneland and DeKalb and with Yorkville and Sterling as well. But it came down to that we needed a place to land and we’ve been given an opportunity and it seems like the best option. Really at this point it’s about the only option. Everything else was speculation and whatnot.”

That now leaves four NIB 12 members still looking for a new conference home, they include, DeKalb, Kaneland, Yorkville and Sterling. Many thought Sycamore would stay with DeKalb if at all possible.

The new league will include the Spartans, Plano, Sandwich, LaSalle-Peru, Ottawa, Morris, Rochelle and Geneseo. Eight members is a good fit, especially for football scheduling.