2018 OHSAA Boys BB Program

(3-19-18) – This year was the first year of the OHSAA’s competitive balance plan. This year’s boys basketball state championships are being impacted by the change.

Last year eight private schools competed in the state final fours, this year the number is down to five. Three of the four state finals were won by private schools, Massilon Jackson was the only public school to win a title in D I.

Two of the private schools to win a state title moved up one division, Roger Bacon moves up from D III to D II and Columbus Wellington from D IV to D III. Both are not in this year’s state final fours in their new classes.

Two D IV schools Marion Local and Berlin Hiland, who both lost in D III regional finals in 2017, moved down to D IV this season thanks to the CBP and both are not in the Final Four this weekend.

Interesting sideline

Cornerstone Christian , who will play in the D IV Final Four, is located in Wiilloughby and they play a lot of the D I basketball powers (#1 Solon, Mentor, Garfield Heights, etc) in Ohio. They played in the Adidas Holiday Slam in Orlando, Florida and went 2-1.  According to the OHSAA web site the Patriots have 44 boys, competitive balance will not be an issue for them.

Akron St. Vincent St. Mary is the only champion from 2017 to return to the Final Four and remain in the same division, D II.

State Final Teams

Cincinnati Moeller
Lakewood St. Edward

2018 Final Four – ^ Private School

^Cincinnati Moeller
Pickerington Central

*Akron St. Vincent St. Mary (won state title)

2018 Final Four – ^ Private School

^Akron St. Vincent St. Mary

Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph (moved up to D II in 2018)
*Roger Bacon  (moved up to D II in 2018) (won state title)

2018 Final Four – ^ Private School

^Cleveland Lutheran East (moves up to D III)
Deer Park
^Harvest Prep (moves up from D IV)
Columbus Africentric

2017 Private Schools
Cleveland Lutheran East (moved up to D III in 2018)
Delphos St. John’s
*Columbus Wellington (moved up to D III in 2018) (won state title)

2018 Final Four – ^ Private School

Marion Local (moved down from D III)
Berlin Hiland (moved down from D III)
^Cornerstone Christian