Naismith Troph Release—

ATLANTA (March 14, 2017) – Megan Walker, the nation’s top high school girls’ basketball commitment, was named winner of the 2017 Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

Walker, a senior from Monacan (Va.) High School and a UConn commitment, becomes the 6th Naismith Trophy winner to play for legendary coach Geno Auriemma, following Diana Taurasi (2000), Maya Moore (2007), Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (2011), Breanna Stewart (2012) and Katie Lou Samuelson (2015).

The 6-1 shooting guard led the Chiefs to a third consecutive Group 4A state title and a perfect season (30-0). In the championship game, she scored 35 points, including her team’s final 16 and the game-winner with 15 seconds left. She also hauled down 11 rebounds and added six blocks and five steals in her final game at Monacan.

Walker, who recently eclipsed the 2,000-point total, averaged 25.5 points, 7.5 rebounds and 1.2 assists per game during her senior campaign.

Larry Starr, Monacan High School Head Girls’ Basketball Coach

“Megan is so deserving of this award. She holds herself to a maturity level of people many years her senior. She is humble yet confident, and is always helping everyone on the team improve. Megan is a great teammate, leader, and person and will represent the Naismith Trophy with dignity and class.”

Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club

“In 30 years of this award we have had the privilege of recognizing not only the most talented individual high school basketball players, but those who elevate the game of their teammates to achieve greater successes. Megan exemplifies that quality, which was recognized by our voters. We enthusiastically welcome her to our family of Naismith Trophy winners.”

The award is determined by a select group of basketball journalists from around the country who form the Naismith Trophy national high school voting academy. The selections were based on outstanding player performances during the 2016-2017 high school basketball season.

First presented in 1987, the Naismith High School Player of the Year award has honored many notable winners, including Lisa Leslie (1990, Morningside High School, Inglewood, California), Chamique Holdsclaw (1995, Christ the King, Middle Village, N.Y.), Candace Parker (2003, Naperville Central, Naperville, Illinois) and Maya Moore (2006 & 2007, Collins Hill High School, Suwanee, Georgia).


The Walker File

Megan Walker, Monocan’s 6-foot-1 senior guard  led the Chiefs to a 29-0 record and the  Virginia 4A state championship game. Walker averaged 25.5 points, 7.5 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 1.2 assists through 29 games. A McDonald’s High School All-American Game selection and a two-time Group 4A Player of the Year, Walker was a member of the USA Basketball Women’s National Team that won the 2016 FIBA Americas U18 Women’s Championship. Rated as the No. 1 recruit in the Class of 2017 by Blue Star Basketball Report, she ended her high school career with over 2,000 points.

A member of the Monacan High Healthy Allies, a booster group that supports the school’s Health and Physical Therapy Specialty Center, Walker has volunteered locally at a daycare center and as a youth basketball coach. She has also donated her time as part of multiple community-service initiatives through her church youth group.
Walker has maintained a weighted 3.83 GPA in the classroom. She has signed a national letter of intent to play basketball on scholarship at the University of Connecticut beginning this fall.