(11-26-17) With the OHSAA State Football Championships coming up this week, it looks like the new Competitive Balance system implemented for the first time this year is working.

Since the playoffs started in 1972 many have complained that the private schools were reaping the rewards during the playoffs. Last season (2016) saw five private schools take home State Championship trophies, 2015 saw four private schools winning a title, four more in 2014, just two in 2013 and three in 2012.

So in the first year of the new competitive balance plan in place, just one private school has qualified for a chance to play in a State title game, Akron Hoban in D II. Did the plan work or was it just a rough year for private schools?

If Winton Woods would beat Hoban in the D II title game it would be the first year in the history of playoffs, that started back in 1972, that a private HS did not win at least one state football championship.

2017 OHSAA State Final Football Schedule

Thursday, Nov. 30

Div. II – No. 5 Akron Archbishop Hoban (13-1) vs. No. 2 Cincinnati Winton Woods (13-1), 7:30 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 1

Div. VII – No. 5 Cuyahoga Heights (12-1) vs. Minster (10-4), 10 a.m.

Div. V – No. 3 Wheelersburg (14-0) vs. No. 1 Eastwood (14-0), 3 p.m.

Div. I – No. 8 Pickerington Central (13-1) vs. No. 6 Mentor (13-1), 8 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 2

Div. VI – No. 1 Marion Local (14-0) vs. No. 2 Kirtland (14-0), 10 a.m.

Div. IV – No. 7 Clinton-Massie (13-1) vs. No. 1 Steubenville (14-0), 3 p.m.

Div. III – Tri-Valley (13-1) vs. No. 1 Trotwood-Madison (14-0), 8 p.m.

Last Five Years Of Private School State Champions

I – Cincinnati St. Xavier
III – Akron Bishop Hoban
IV – Columbus Bishop Hartley
V – Canton Central Catholic
VII – Warren John F. Kennedy

I – Lakewood St. Edward
II – Cincinnati LaSalle
III – Akron Bishop Hoban
IV – Columbus Bishop Hartley

I – Lakewood St. Edward
II – Cincinnati LaSalle
III – Toledo Central Catholic
IV – Cleveland Benedictine

I – Cincinnati Moeller
III – Akron St. Mary-St. Mary

I – Cincinnati Moeller
II – Toledo Central Catholic
III – Akron St. Mary-St. Mary



Past State Football Championship Results  (since the inception of the playoffs)