Indiana HOF

(12-12-17) (New Castle) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame announced their 2018 women’s induction class, to be honored at the 17th annual Women’s Awards Banquet on Saturday, April 28, 2018. The list includes schools in the Allen County Athletic Conference, Shannon (Freeman) Frogge of Jay County and Woodlan grad and Heritage Coach Cheri (Shanebrook) Gilbert.

Name                                 High School               Grad
Cara (Gullion) Alfele                Scottsburg                1988
Linda (Allen) Bamrick                Roncalli                  1980
Tricia Cullop                        North Knox                1989
Jennifer (Cole) Davis                Valparaiso                1989
Marla (Inman) Eltrevoog              Bedford North Lawrence    1992
Shannon (Freeman) Frogge             Jay County                1986
Cheri (Shanebrook) Gilbert           Woodlan                   1972
Cindy Lamping                        Batesville                1991
Vicki Lander                         Evansville Bosse          1987
Beth (Piepenbrink) Schwecke          Mooresville               1979
Dana (Drew) Shaw                     Valparaiso                1990

Indiana Fever Silver Medal Award
Bud Shippee                          Seymour                   1970
Jay County's Shannon Freeman
Jay County’s Shannon Freeman

Shannon (Freeman) Frogge remains the only Jay County H.S. graduate named as an
Indiana All-Star. Setting school records in career scoring (1,458 points) and rebounds
(831), she was named a 1986 Indiana All-Star, Gatorade Indiana Player of the Year, AP 1st team all-state and Academic All-American after averaging 26.2 points and 12.2 rebounds per game as a senior. Averaging 15.9 points and 10.2 rebounds as a sophomore and 17.4 points and 10.9 rebounds as a junior, she helped lead the Patriots to a 50-13 record in her final three seasons. In 2009, Hoosier Basketball Magazine named her one of the “Top 100 Players in the Past 40 Years.” Named Rookie of the Year and Dean’s List after one season at the University of Kentucky, she transferred to Ball State where she served as a team co-captain before a basal skull fracture and torn ACL prematurely ended her career.
Employed in wellness and physical training, she resides in Heber City, Utah.

Woodlan - 1972 - Cheryl Shanebrook
Cheri (Shanebrook) Gilbert,1972 graduate of Woodlan

Cheri (Shanebrook) Gilbert, a 1972 graduate of Woodlantakes her place in the Hall as the head coach of a small school winner of Indiana’s one-class girls basketball state tournament. As the head coach of  Heritage High School from 1977-87, she led teams to wins in 80% of their games, totaling 162 victories against 40 losses. Highlighting her career, she coached Heritage to a 1982 IHSAA state championship victory, holding the distinction of the smallest enrollment of any of Indiana’s one-class girls basketball state champions. Her team returned to the 1983 state finals led by Indiana Miss Basketball and HOF inductee, Jody Beerman, holding a 50-3 record over those two seasons and a 90-8 record over four seasons from 1981-1985. In all, Gilbert’s teams won five Allen County Athletic Conference titles, five sectionals, three regionals and three semi-states, reaching the state finals in 1978, 1982 and 1983. Gilbert remained a teacher at Heritage before spending six years as athletic director, retiring in 2017 after 39 years with the school.

She resides in Leo, Indiana.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 17thAnnual Women’s Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 28, 2018. The day’s events will include a free reception at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame museum that afternoon and a banquet that evening at the Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis. Reservations are available online now or through mail order in early 2018. Call the Hall at 765-529-1891, visit or email for more information.