(12-11-20) Yesterday Roger Bacon RB Corey Kiner was named the 2020 Mr. Football in Ohio. He joins a select list of players that have won the honor since it started in 1987.

As a senior in 1987 Zanesville’s Buster Howe (5-11, 182) was named the 1st Mr. Football in Ohio. Howe rushed for 1,795 yards and scored 34 touchdowns. As a single wing back, he added 431 passing yards. How was quite versatile adding eight interceptions, three field goals, 38 extra points and averaged 40.9 yards per punt.

Ten MrFootball’s have attended Ohio State, eleven if you count Joe Burrow. Burrow started his career as a Buckeye before transferring to LSU and winning a national title in 2020. The last Mr. Ohio to go to Ohio State was 2018 Mr. Ohio Cade Stover (Lexington).

Two brothers have won the award Kenton’s Ben Mauk and his brother Maty, both QBs who fit the offensive plans of their dad Coach Mike Mauk.

There have been two two-time winners, Euclid’s Robert Smith (1988, 1989) and North Canton Hoover RB Erick Howard who won in 2008-2009.

Just seven Mr. Football’s came from private schools.

Three schools have had two players win the award, Euclid, Kenton and Mentor.

Two Mr. Football’s, Charles Woodson and Joe Burrow have won the Heisman Trophy in college.

Several Stateline area players have won the Mr. Ohio award, including St. Henry’s Bobby Hoying, Piqua’s Brandon Saine and Mississinawa Valley’s Curtis Ennis.

Mitch Trubisky, Bobby Hoying and Curtis Ennis

Corey Kiner, Brandon Saine and Maty Mauk