(12-23-20) The Western Buckeye League (WBL) is one of the oldest Ohio athletic leagues. The first season of competition was held in 1936-37. The six team league included founding members, Bellefontaine, Bluffton, Celina, St. Marys, Wapakoneta and Van Wert, four of the six still remain as part of the WBL.

The first WBL boys basketball championship was picked up by a talented Bluffton Pirate team who went 5-0 in league play and would later advance to the 1st round of the Class B State Tournament, they lost in the second game to Midvale 39-32.

1956-57 was the last season of competition for the Pirates in the WBL as they left for the Northwest Conference (NWC). Bluffton would leave the WBL with four basketball titles (1936-37, 1940-41, 1944-45 and 1946-47). According to NWC records Bluffton, who is still a NWC member, has won just three boys titles, the first was in the 1957-58 season (Pirates 1st season to play basketball in the NWC).