CHICAGO (March 8, 2018) — In its 33rd year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Dane Goodwin of Upper Arlington High School as its 2017-18 Gatorade Ohio Boys Basketball Player of the Year. Goodwin is the first Gatorade Ohio Boys Basketball Player of the Year to be chosen from Upper Arlington High School.

Goodwin is the son of former St. Marys grad Damon Goodwin, who many consider as one of the best basketball players to put on a Roughriders uniform.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Goodwin as Ohio’s best high school boys basketball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Basketball Player of the Year award to be announced in March, Goodwin joins an elite alumni association of past state boys basketball award winners, including Karl-Anthony Towns (2012-13 & 2013-14, St. Joseph HS, N.J.), Dwight Howard (2003-04, SW Atlanta Christian Academy, Ga.), Chris Bosh (2001-02, Lincoln HS, Texas), Paul Pierce (1994-95, Inglewood HS, Calif.), Chauncey Billups (1993-94 & 1994-95, George Washington HS, Colo.) and Jason Kidd (1991-92, St. Joseph Notre Dame HS, Calif.).


The 6-foot-5, 187-pound senior guard had led the Golden Bears to a 22-1 record and the Division I district semifinals at the time of his selection. Goodwin averaged 23.9 points per game along with 9.6 rebounds and 1.2 steals through 23 games. He shot 50 percent from the field and 83 percent from the free-throw line. Goodwin scored 20 or more points in three-quarters of Upper Arlington’s games on his way to Ohio Capital Conference Player of the Year honors.

Goodwin has volunteered locally for the past two years as part of an elementary school literacy outreach campaign. He has also donated his time as a summer basketball camp instructor at Capital University.

Ryan Grose, Head Coach at Marysville

“Dane is the best player I have coached against in my eight years here in Marysville. He has had a target on his back since he started as a freshman … and he has continued to perform at a high level. He really doesn’t have a weakness to his game, he can play any position on the floor offensively and he has really become a good defensive player.”

Goodwin has maintained a weighted 3.02 GPA in the classroom. He has signed a national letter of intent to play basketball on scholarship at the University of Notre Dame this fall. Goodwin had committed to Ohio State, but asked for a release after Thad Matta stepped down as the Buckeyes Head Coach

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Goodwin joins recent Gatorade Ohio Boys Basketball Players of the Year Kaleb Wesson (2016-17, Westerville South High School), Xavier Simpson (2015-16, Lima Senior High School), Luke Kennard (2014-15 & 2013-14, Franklin High School), Jack Gibbs (2012-13, Westerville North High School), Adolphus Washington (2011-12, Taft High School), Travis Trice (2010-11, Wayne High School), Jordan Sibert (2009-10, Princeton), C.J. McCollum (2008-09, GlenOak High School), B.J. Mullens (2007-08, Canal Winchester High School), and Jon Diebler (2006–07, Upper Sandusky) among the state’s list of former award winners.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Dane will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a $1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional $10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants – one for each sport – will be announced throughout the year.