(11-22-20) 2020 has been the year of the pandemic, but hats off to the OHSAA and member schools for completing the State Football season and all seven division championships. Challenging? Yes from Day one until the last champion was crowned on Sunday.


This season every OHSAA member school qualified to compete in the state playoffs for the first time in history. No computer points were involved, but coaches voted on seedings. Despite that offer some schools decided to opt out and continued with a regular season schedule.

There were forfeits during the playoffs due to COVID 19 concerns, all a part of the 2020 season.

So what did competitive balance during the 2020 pandemic football playoffs look like.

Five private schools competed in the seven championship games with two winning a championship trophy. One private school in the D IV finals, Lake Catholic, was a #12 seed, the remaining four included two #1 seeds, one #2 seed and one #3 seed.

2020 Football State Championship Game at Fortress Obetz

***red text signifies private schools who won titles

Division I Friday, November 13, Cincinnati St. Xavier (9-2) vs Pickerington Central (11-0)

2020 Football State Championship Games All games at Massillon Paul Brown Tiger Stadium

Division VII Friday, November 20, 1:15 p.m. – New Bremen (9-2) vs. Warren John F. Kennedy (9-2)  

Division II Friday, November 20, 6:15 p.m. – Massillon Washington (10-1) vs. Akron Archbishop Hoban (10-0)  

Division V Saturday, November 21, 1:15 p.m. – Kirtland (10-0) vs. Ironton (11-0)  

Division III Saturday, November 21, 6:15 p.m. – Columbus St. Francis DeSales (9-1) vs. Chardon (11-0)  

Division IV Sunday, November 21, 12:15 – Van Wert (10-1) vs. Mentor Lake Catholic (8-2)  

Division VI Sunday, November 22, 5:15 p.m. – New Middletown Springfield (11-0) vs. Coldwater (11-0)

When looking over the past four years it has lowered the number of private school titles. The last year, 2016, before the plan was in place five private schools won a state championship.

Is it working? It looks like it by those numbers.

Last Eight Years Of Private School State Champions


I – Cincinnati St. Xavier
II – Akron Archbishop Hoban

II – Cincinnati LaSalle

I – Lakewood St. Edward
II – Akron Archbishop Hoban

II – Akron Bishop Hoban

I – Cincinnati St. Xavier
III – Akron Bishop Hoban
IV – Columbus Bishop Hartley
V – Canton Central Catholic
VII – Warren John F. Kennedy

I – Lakewood St. Edward
II – Cincinnati LaSalle
III – Akron Bishop Hoban
IV – Columbus Bishop Hartley

I – Lakewood St. Edward
II – Cincinnati LaSalle
III – Toledo Central Catholic
IV – Cleveland Benedictine

I – Cincinnati Moeller
III – Akron St. Mary-St. Vincent

I – Cincinnati Moeller
II – Toledo Central Catholic
III – Akron St. Mary-St. Mary

Related: The Midwest Athletic Conference

MAC Teams Who Participated In Past Championship Games

  • 2020 – New Bremen, Coldwater
  • 2019 – Marion Local, Anna
  • 2018 – Marion Local
  • 2017 – Marion Local, Minster
  • 2016 – Minster, Marion Local, Coldwater
  • 2015 – Ft. Recovery, Marion Local, Coldwater
  • 2014 – Marion Local, Minster, Coldwater

Before the CB Plan

2008 – Last time the MAC had just one school in a Championship game
2002 – Last time the MAC had no schools in a Championship game