Rock Valley College will again host the 2017 Rising Stars Classic on Saturday, April 8th, 2017, in the Physical Education Center on RVC’s main campus (3301 North Mulford Road, Rockford).

The Rising Stars Classic features the best of the best in high school basketball in the Stateline area head to head. Players and coaches were selected by a media panel of writers and broadcasters. The panel decided on players from the around the Stateline are, including  Winnebago, Boone, Ogle, and Stevenson Counties or the NIC-10, Big North West, and the NUIC conferences.


Four Byron Tigers of the two-time IHSA 2A Champions will represent the All-Area team, Lexi DeVries, Bailey Burrows, Paige Holloway and Sarah Hopkins.  Arkansas bound Macy Weaver, a 1st team 3A All-State player from Stillman Valley will join the All-Area team.

NIC 10 Champion Boylan Titans will have Sarah Welsh highlighting the All NIC 10 team line-up.

The NIC 10 stars will be coached by East’s LA Malone and the All-Area team by Bobby Mellon of Stillman Valley.

Game 1 at 6:00pm: NIC-10 Girls vs. All-Area Girls

NIC-10 Girls All-Area Girls
Madilyn Hecox (East) Macy Weaver (Stillman Valley)
Mardaeja Cross (East) Lexi DeVries (Byron)
Victoria Malone (East) Bailey Burrows (Byron)
Sarah Welsh (Boylan) Paige Holloway (Byron)
Megan Matuska (Hononegah) Sarah Hopkins (Byron)
Crystal Mathis (Guilford) Kailyn Strawbridge (Rockford Lutheran)
Kaleia Montiero (Guilford) Ashlei Lopez (Rockford Lutheran)
Elizabeth Bankole (Jefferson) Abby Ponder (Pecatonica)
Neve Yerk (Belvidere) Julie Galauner (Genoa Kingston)
Quavashia Avery (Freeport) Jesica Nay (Genoa Kingston)
LA Malone (East)
Bobby Mellon (Stillman Valley)

In the boys game, the NIC 10 stars will be led by two-time Conference  MVP and Air Force commit Zach Couper.  On the All-Area team Rockford Lutheran’s Josh Streeter and Rockford Christian’s Matt Glowgoski will highlight the roster.

The NIC 10 team will be coach by Boylan’s Brett McAllister and the Area stars by Rockford Christian’s Isaiah Johnson.

Game 2 at 8:00pm: NIC-10 Boys vs. All-Area Boys

NIC-10 Boys All-Area Boys
Zach Couper (Boylan) Matt Glowgoski (Rockford Christian)
Kevin Diemer (Boylan) Jackson Foltz (Rockford Christian)
Max Miller (Hononegah) Josh Streeter (Rockford Lutheran)
Josh Donaldson (Hononegah) Luke Harper (Rockford Lutheran)
Allen White III (Harlem) Patrick Gustafson (Freeport Aquin)
Zeke Vandenburgh (Freeport) Brighton Haverland (Easton)
Charles Burnell (East) Michael Mitchell (DeKalb)
Austin Revolinski (Belvidere) Trent Snodgrass (Byron)
Nick Phillips (Guilford) Isaiah Whitehead (Winnebago)
Tenoah Tatum (Auburn) Dillon Hagstrom (South Beloit)

Brett McAllister (Boylan)


Isaiah Johnson (Rockford Christian)

Tickets for the event are $8 for adults and $5 for students and senior citizens and can be purchased at the door.