(3-16-23) An old name a new league…the Central Buckeye League (CBL) will start competition in the fall. It is quite a mixture of schools…public schools, Catholic school member, Christian school member and two private schools.

All eight members are leaving the Mid-State League to start the CBL.

Mid-State League (MSL) – Columbus School For Girls (Cardinal Division), Bexley, Bishop Ready (football only), Buckeye Valley, Columbus Academy, Grandview Heights, Whitehall and Worthington Christian (Ohio Division).

Bishop Ready was set to join the MSL this fall after announcing they were leaving the Central Catholic League.

Did you know??????

The former….Central Buckeye League

There were two versions of the CBL. The first ran from 1929 to 1966. The second version ran from 1976 to 1991, where after joining with schools from the Licking County League, it was rebranded as the Buckeye Athletic Conference (BAC).

First Version (1929-1966)

  • Bexley Lions (1929–66, to Franklin County League)
  • Grandview Heights Bobcats (1929–66, to Franklin County League)
  • Granville Blue Aces (1929–30)
  • Westerville Wildcats (1929–50, to Mid-6 League)
  • Marysville Monarchs (1930–45, to Mid-State League (1945–50))
  • Circleville Tigers (1931–39, to South Central Ohio League)
  • Delaware Hayes Pacers (1932–66, Delaware Willis Bobcats before 1963)
  • Upper Arlington Golden Bears (1939–66, to Franklin County League)
  • Worthington Cardinals (1939–45, to Franklin County League, 1958–66, to Franklin County League)
  • Mount Vernon Yellow Jackets (1947–66)
  • Urbana Hillclimbers (1950–66)
  • Whitehall-Yearling Rams (1958–66, to Metropolitan League)

Second Version (1976-1991)

During this period, the league would play as one division from 1977 through 1980. The league would split its teams beginning in 1981. The two 6 team divisions were roughly divided by enrollment with the larger schools making up the Buckeye Division and the smaller schools forming the Central Division. After New Albany leaves the league in 1984, Olentangy will move to the Central Division with new member, London, replacing Olentangy in the Buckeye. The divisions would drop to 5 members each for the 1990-91 school year as Buckeye Valley & North Union leave.

  • Plain City Jonathan Alder Pioneers1 (1976–91, to BAC)
  • Bexley Lions (1976–91, to BAC)
  • Sunbury Big Walnut Eagles2 (1976–91, to BAC)
  • Gahanna Columbus Academy Vikings3 (Boys only, 1976–91)
  • Columbus School for Girls Unicorns (Girls only, 1976–91)
  • Marysville Monarchs4 (1976–91, to Ohio Capital Conference)
  • New Albany Golden Eagles (1976–84, to Mid-Buckeye League)
  • Lewis Center Olentangy Braves4 (1976–91, to BAC)
  • Radnor Buckeye Valley Barons5 (1977–90, to Mid-Ohio Athletic Conference)
  • Dublin Shamrocks (1977–91, to Ohio Capital Conference)
  • Grandview Heights Bobcats (1977–91, to BAC)
  • Richwood North Union Wildcats (1977–90, to Mid-Ohio Athletic Conference)
  • West Jefferson Roughriders (1977–91, to BAC)
  • London Red Raiders (1984–91, to BAC)
  1. Concurrent with CBL and Darby Valley League 1976-77.
  2. Concurrent with CBL and Mid-Ohio League 1976-77.
  3. Concurrent with CBL and Mid-Buckeye League 1976-77.
  4. Concurrent with CBL and Metropolitan League 1976-77.
  5. Concurrent with CBL and Mid-Ohio League 1977-78.
Central Buckeye League Divisions 1981-91
BexleyColumbus Academy (boys only)
Big WalnutColumbus School for Girls (girls only)
Buckeye Valley (81-90)Grandview Heights
DublinJonathan Alder
London (84-91)North Union (81-90)
MarysvilleNew Albany (81-84)
Olentangy (81-84)Olentangy (84-91)
West Jefferson