Matt Bahr.jpg

(7-29-17) – The Wuerffel Trophy announced its watch list today of a record 109 players from college football’s Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach Florida. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Kenton native Matt Bahr (Kent State, Junior, LB 6’1 223) was selected and will represent Kent State University on the watch list.

• Earned Leo Strang Award in spring for upperclassmen with the highest GPA
• Named to Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

• Named MAC Distinguished Scholar Athlete
• Named to Academic All-MAC Team
• Played in eight games

• Named MAC Distinguished Scholar Athlete
• Named to Academic All-MAC Team
• Appeared in all 12 game and recorded 10 total tackles
• Made collegiate debut at Illinois
• Played in all 12 games, mainly on special teams
• Made 10 tackles

• Redshirted

Prior to Kent State
• Two-time All-Western Buckeye League First Team selection
• WBL Defensive Back of the Year as a senior
• Helped Kenton to three WBL championships and two regional titles
• Four-year letterwinner, helping Kenton 44-8 record over four seasons
• Also lettered in basketball and baseball
• High school teammates with Brice Fackler

• Chosen as member of Mid-American Conference’s Student-Athlete Executive Committee
• Traveled to Belize in Courts for Kids service project


You Tube Video courtesy of WOSN TV, Lima, Ohio—

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients.

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities’ Sports Information departments and will close on October 13. A current list of nominees can be found at beginning August 1. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 2 and finalists will be announced on November 22.

The formal announcement of the 2017 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation’s press conference in New York City on December 5.

The presentation of the 2017 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 49th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 16, 2018 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are: Rudy Niswanger (LSU-2005), Joel Penton (Ohio State-2006), Paul Smith (Tulsa-2007), Tim Tebow (Florida-2008), Tim Hiller (W. Michigan-2009), Sam Acho (Texas-2010), Barrett Jones (Alabama-2011), Matt Barkley (USC-2012), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma-2013), Deterrian Shackelford (Ole Miss-2014), Ty Darlington (Oklahoma-2015) and Trevor Knight (Texas A&M-2016).

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast more than 800 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a two-week period this month. Sixteen of the association’s 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2017 preseason watch list calendar:

Thanks to Wuerffel Trophy and Kent State University Athletic Department for parts of this release.