Special thanks to Defiance Baseball Coach Tom Held, who Tweeted the below information this morning

(1-14-21) The Western Buckeye League (WBL) is one of the longest running leagues in Ohio, the first champions were crowned in 1937. Four of the original league members are still members of the WBL – Celina, St. Marys, Van Wert and Wapakoneta.

In 1976 the WBL added girls sports. Nine of the current members were a part of the league, in 1982 Shawnee rejoined the league after exiting in 1967 and Delphos St. John’s left and joined the Midwest Athletic Conference.

Celina, an original member has won 151 combined league championships, while Shawnee has 144 titles and Defiance with 143 titles.

Kenton, who has been a league member since 1942 , has the least amount of titles with 35.

Defiance, who joined the WBL in 1973, has won the most boys titles with 114, 26 in cross country, 25 baseball, 21 wrestling and 17 in track.

Celina has picked up the most girls titles with 85, thanks to 27 track titles and 26 girls volleyball titles.The school in 2nd place is Defiance with 48 titles.

The WBL All-Sports Trophy is presented each year. The first was won in 1971-72 by St. Marys. Celina has picked up 16, while Defiance and Defiance both have 10.

  • Celina 16
  • Defiance 10
  • Shawnee 10
  • Wapakoneta 6
  • Elida 4
  • St. Marys 3