Ft. Recovery Hires New Boys Basketball Coach

(5-22-17) Ft. Recovery to name new Boys Head Basketball Coach, Greenville’s Michael Bashore.

In a release from Ft. Recovery Superintent Justin Firks:


Related story:




Baseball: Indian’s Thwaits Named MAC MVP, Cav’s Harlamert is Coach of the Year


(5-16-17) The MAC released it’s 2017 All-Conference Baseball Team.

Ft. Recovery’s Nick Thwaits (Jr) was named the Player of the Year.

Coldwater’s Brian Harlamert, after leading the Cav’s to their 30th MAC baseball title was named Coach of the Year.

Coldwater was represented on the 1st team by Dylan Thobe (Sr). Marion Local’s Duane Leugers represents the Flyers on the 1st team. Joining Thwaits on the 1st team was teammate Cole Wendel (Jr). Representing Parkway was Trace Walls.

2017 All MAC Baseball Team
2017 All MAC Baseball Team

Related story:

Ft. Recovery Looking For A New Boys Basketball Coach

Ft Recovery Indians logo

(5-5-17) The job wanted ad below appears on the Ohio High School Athletic Association web site:

Head Varsity Boys Basketball Coach

Fort Recovery Local Schools. Fort Recovery competes in the competitive Midwest Athletic Conference and is located on the Ohio/Indiana border and NW/SW district border. The candidate must complete or have completed all necessary coaching certifications and be able to pass a criminal records check. In addition, the candidate must possess strong communication, organizational and leadership skills. The candidate must take responsibility over the entire basketball program, youth to Varsity, and perform all duties of the head basketball coach. Some duties include but are not limited to: coordinating practices throughout the season and off-season; keeping accurate paperwork; inventory of equipment; skill development; academic support; and work closely with the AD and Principal to fulfill the goals of the athletic program. Interested candidates should email their resumes to Athletic Director, Kurt Rammel at rammelk@fortrecoveryschools.org. Please include a cover letter and references with your resume. The application deadline is Friday, May 12, 2017

Chris Guggenbiller was recently non-renewed by the School Board at Ft. Recovery as the boys head basketball coach.

The reason given for the non-renewal came in an email reply from:

Justin M. Firks, Superintendent, Fort Recovery Local Schools
“All supplemental contracts are non-renewed at the end of each school year. At the end of the year evaluation with Mr. Guggenbiller, the administration and Board of Education decided to go in a different direction with the boys basketball program effective immediately. The position has been posted and the interview process will begin in a timely manner to name the next Head Boys Basketball Coach at Fort Recovery High School.”

In late January an incident occurred at a Ft. Recovery game with Coach Guggenbiller, a player and a player’s dad were all involved. Guggenbiller after the incident happened was suspended for two games, but later would be reinstated in early February.

Guggenbiller did receive a one-year teaching contract at the April Board Meeting.


FR April
Ft. Recovery School Board-April Meeting

Guggenbiller is a 1999 graduate of Fort Recovery, the University of Dayton and was a member of the Indians 1999 State runner-up basketball team.  Before accepting the Ft. Recovery job in the summer of 2014,  Guggenbiller was a teacher and coach (basketball and football) at Vandalia-Butler.

Guggenbiller Record
16-17	6-3	17-8
15-16	6-3	16-7
14-15	2-7	7-16
Related stories:

2017 All-SSN Boys HS Basketball Team Named-Cox Player of the Year

All-SSN Player of the Year – Micaiah Cox – Ft. Recovery – photo courtesy Pat Agler


(2-27-17) This years All-SSN Boys Basketball team is a good mixture of veterans and young players.  The seven members of the group,  includes three Seniors, two Juniors and two Sophomores. Height is not a problem with four players 6’4 or better and shooting behind the arc includes two sharp-shooters.

2017 All-SSN Boys Basketball Team

Micaiah Cox – Ft. Recovery – 6’5 – Senior – Player of the Year

  • Jay Houck – Jay County – 6’5 – Senior

  • Kole Murlin – Celina – 6’1 – Junior

  • Tyler Schlarman – St. Henry – 6’0 – Junior

  • Mason Baxter – Parkway – 6’1 – Sophomore

  • Nathan Bruns – Marion Local – 6’5 – Sophomore

  • Dylan Thobe – Coldwater – Senior – 6’4 – Senior


Ft. Recovery’s Micaiah Cox is the SSN Player of the Year, during his four years he has been a big part of the Indians success. This season he averaged over 16 points and 8 rebounds a game.  At 6’5 his defense keeps control of the lane at both end of the floors. Cox became the 16th Indian to score a 1,000 points in his career.



Jay County’s Jay Houck became a career 1,000 point scorer and has been a big part of the Patriots success. His inside presence has been a big asset over his career.

Coldwater’s Dylan Thobe – photo courtesy Pat Agler

The other Senior is Dylan Tobe, coming of a very successful football season, he helped Coldwater this season on the floor as well, one of the top 3-point shooters in Mercer County and he averaged over 12 points a game.

St. Henry’s Tyler Schlarman – photo courtesy Pat Agler

Tyler Schlarman, the 6’0 Junior was a steady influence for St. Henry this season, averaging almost 14 points and 7 rebounds a game.

Celina’s Kole Murlin – photo courtesy Snap In Time Photography

Despite an off-year for Celina this season, one bright spot has been 6’1 Junior Kole Murlin who is averaging 14 points and 8 rebounds a game.

Marion Local’s Nathan Bruns – courtesy Press Pro Magazine

Marion Local’s Nathan Bruns is one of the Sophomores on this years team, at 6’5 he averages 11 points and 7 rebounds a game and continues to impress and improve every time he hits the floor.

Parkway’s Mason Baxter – courtesy Nikki Fox

One of the younger teams in the MAC is Parkway, Sophomore Mason Baxter is just one of those players that have given the Panther fans something to look forward too.  Baxter is deadly from outside and is one of the top 3-point shooters in the county, he is averaging 12 points a game.

Thanks to the following – Snap In Time Photography , Nikki Fox and Pat Agler for use of photos.